PDA

View Full Version : New build and need expert help please

HoyHoy
05/18/2014, 11:47 AM
Greetings all,
I am a newbie to the hobby and currently have a tank/sump with the following dimensions:

Tank: 120cm (L) x 60cm (H) x 50cm (W) = 95 gallons
Sump: 80cm x 40cm x 40cm = 34 gallons

I am really confused and desperate for answers for the following questions:

- How much flow the tank requires? I was thinking of 2x Hydor Koralia or Jebao 25.Each will be on one side of the tank.

- Which submersible return pump is sufficient for my build? How much GPH is required? I am willing to pay more for a quite pump since I’ll place the tank in the living room.

- Which skimmer size should I go for? I am interested in reef octopus (space saver) ones but not sure which is the best model.

- Are 2x Kessil A360W-E LEDs going to be sufficient for this tank size? Do you recommend any controllers to other than the APEX?

- Which ATO system should I get?

I really appreciate your help and support guys. Help me out please!

whosurcaddie
05/18/2014, 01:53 PM
Two wp25's will be perfect for your tank.

you want 5x total volume turnover per hour so about 700 GPH. But you need to look at head loss ratings when looking for a return pump also.

Get a skimmer that is rated for twice the size of your tank.

Kessil is a great choice and my favorite look on a reef tank. I know a lot of people speak highly of the apex. I don't have one so I cannot recommend for or against the controller.

Tunze for ATO its the best and most reliable. It uses light sensors instead of float switches and is much more reliable.

HoyHoy
05/19/2014, 08:40 AM
Thanks a lot bro for your help! Truly appreciate it. Which type of return pump do you recommend?

Looking for more input from others please.

Dmorty217
05/19/2014, 09:00 AM