PDA

View Full Version : Furan 2 (Nitrofurazone) and testing.


Cu455
05/18/2014, 03:12 PM
I am using furan 2. It contains Nitrofurazone. Will this throw off my test results?

I wish I tested before I treated the tank so I can compare it to the results after I treated it.

Randy Holmes-Farley
05/18/2014, 04:52 PM
Testing for what? I don't think it will be detectable by the kits we typically use. :)

billsreef
05/18/2014, 06:23 PM
Due to it's coloring of the water, it does throw off the colors of the typical test kits a bit. Otherwise, I've never observed any other issues with the typical ammonia and pH tests that one is likely to be using in treatment tank.

Cu455
05/18/2014, 08:14 PM
I am concerned with ammonia. It says on the box it doesn't affect the biological filtration of the tank. Then it recommends using quick start to replenish the bacteria.

I usually use kanamycin but I can't find it anymore. I need to order some online. I like putting the medication in the food then treat a whole tank.

Good call with the color difference. I will be testing tomorrow morning. I will see if there is a yellow tint. Maybe take some water from my main tank test it with and without furan.