PDA

View Full Version : Powerheads blowing sand

Robert123
05/18/2014, 06:36 PM
I have a new setup and have been pulling my hair out trying to figure how to adjust powerheads so sand isnt being blown all over. This has caused me a huge amount of problems unnecessary massive sandstorms and potential loss of fish.

I am a newbie and had the tank just cycled. ihave 2 powerheads rated for 30-55 gallon butthe life of me I couldnt find a good setup. Sand always being blown around. Water cloudy.

Today I bought a controller and put the powerheads on the side of the tank close to the top pointing to middle back. Set the controller to only switch on 1 powerhead a time for a minute and then the other so I have even circulation coming from both sides and only 1 at a time.

This seems to have solved my issue. 6 hours later and tank is calm and water is starting to clear nicely. Even another fish and my shrimps has made an appearance.

So if you are having same powerhead issues I was having my solution may help.

Now hopefully my firefish, gobies, tang and cardinal will come out otherwise I have to just figure the shrimp ate them.

MinnFish
05/18/2014, 06:54 PM
Hope you find all alive. If so, take this as a close call. You have done quite abit in last than a month. Slow down and do some reading in the meantime. Good luck and happy reefkeeping.

Aquarist007
05/18/2014, 07:09 PM
I have a new setup and have been pulling my hair out trying to figure how to adjust powerheads so sand isnt being blown all over. This has caused me a huge amount of problems unnecessary massive sandstorms and potential loss of fish.

I am a newbie and had the tank just cycled. ihave 2 powerheads rated for 30-55 gallon butthe life of me I couldnt find a good setup. Sand always being blown around. Water cloudy.