PDA

View Full Version : Introducing to tank: anemone first, clownfish first, or simultaneously?

csammis
05/21/2014, 01:02 PM
I'm planning out the stocking schedule for a 93g cube which has recently finished cycling and is starting to receive the first fish out of QT. Coming up on my stocking list I'd like to get a pair of clowns and an anemone (probably a BTA). I've never kept either before so I had a question about introduction order. Would it be most beneficial to:

Introduce the clowns first and then the anemone
Introduce the anemone first, let it find a place it likes, then the clowns
Introduce them both simultaneously having QTed in separate tanks

I'm looking to get a bonded pair of clowns (these (http://www.liveaquaria.com/diversden/ItemDisplay.cfm?c=2733+3&ddid=226926) if they're still available when I'm ready to purchase) if that makes a difference.

Any ideas? As I said I'm new to keeping these varieties and I'm reading up as much as I can so whatever information you could provide would be much appreciated. Thank you!

hobbzz
05/21/2014, 01:18 PM
I would do #2. You want the anemone to be settled in case the clowns take to it immediately.

hypnoj
05/21/2014, 01:50 PM
I would do #2. You want the anemone to be settled in case the clowns take to it immediately.

I agree. Anemone first.

Toddrtrex
05/21/2014, 02:01 PM
Since your tank just finished cycling, I would either get the clowns first, wait 5-7 months, and then get the anemone. Or, wait 5-7 months, get the anemone and then add the clowns.

In this case, I would not add the anemone to a newly cycled tank.

csammis
05/21/2014, 02:07 PM
Thanks for the feedback!

I had read that adding an anemone to a recently cycled tank is a bad idea - why is that, just to help guarantee tank stability or is there something about a more mature tank environment that nems prefer?