PDA

View Full Version : I know blennies are quirky, but...

novadan67
06/05/2014, 09:57 AM
I've had a tailspot blenny in quarantine for almost 2 weeks. He/she seems to be doing very good, eating a lot and not seeming too stressed. This morning when I fed it, I saw something that scared me. The fish was swimming very strange. It would take a bite to eat and then roll over, like a dog! It did this 2 or 3 times and then seemed to go back to it's usual swimming motion. To me, if I EVER see a fish upside down, it just looks bad. Is this something to be concerned about? Do blennies occasionally "roll over"? This is my first time keeping a blenny, I've searched and searched and cannot find anything about this behavior.

Xavibear
06/05/2014, 10:00 AM
There is a reason that escenius blennies are also called comical blennies.

Scott07
06/05/2014, 12:18 PM
oddly, I also have a tailspot blenny in QT at the moment. While I've never seen him "roll over"... I have seen him engage in some very comical behavior. I've witnessed him almost bend himself in half, touch his tail w/ his face real quick... and then go back about with his business as though nothing happened lol. Never had a fish do that before haha.

Sk8r
06/05/2014, 12:19 PM
Marine fish swim at all sorts of funny angles.

novadan67
06/05/2014, 12:24 PM
Thanks, so you guys are saying nothing to worry about? Just seeing a fish belly up (if even for an instant) kicks in my "that's not right" instincts. I'll just keep observing the little guy.

My daughter says the blenny reminds her of a dog because of the way it curls up and sleeps and interacts with us when we feed it. This rolling over trick takes it to another level!

Fish Biscuit
06/05/2014, 03:41 PM