PDA

View Full Version : Alk swing, and not the dreaded RTN\STN

xtlosx
06/17/2014, 10:28 AM
Hey everyone, so this is my first attempt at a large SPS tank (150G) but did keep plenty of SPS in my old 60G cube with no issues. I'm going through what can only be described as heartbreaking, but wanted to get some words of wisdom from the group.

Since November, my tank has been stable, and started stocking SPS. They were doing very well, growing, encrusting, and had decent coloration (had high phosphates for a bit but finally solved that now). A local reefer is upgrading tanks and was slowing bringing all of his stuff over, and of course it was dipped, etc. Things were growing well, and one day he needed to move more than just the usual frag or mini colony so he brought over several colonies, some minis and frags. I'm very anal on testing for Alk\Calc and adjusting two part dosing as needed. Alk is kept at 8.6-8.9 and Calc 440, and all was well. So when he brought all of his stuff over, I tested the morning after thinking alk will start to become depleted, and nothing. I tested everyday for a week and neither Alk nor Calc moved. This was shocking to me, and even 1.5 weeks later it didn't move, so I didn't adjust anything.