PDA

View Full Version : First Clownfish, Questions about pairing

kenman345
06/24/2014, 07:07 AM
Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to the hobby, but enjoying the learning process quite a lot.

I have two misbar ocellaris in a 10G QT right now that I just finished a treatment of cupramine because I noticed Ich like symptoms (most prominently, white spots on their body). They have now been in my possession and tank together for about 3 full weeks. They seem fairly healthy to me and are quite amusing to watch in my free time.

I bought them from LA, and they were both separate when they arrived to me. They are both extremely close in size, to the point I cannot tell if either one is bigger than the other right now. They are both around 1.25-1.5" in length. I think one might be slightly wider than the other though.

I was wondering how long it may take to pair up. I have noticed both of them wiggling around the other in a seizure like fashion which I have read as being a way to show submissiveness to the other. I am worried that maybe they might never pair if they were both females, but I thought they might be too small to have already become females.

I would appreciate everyones input and advice they can give me as I am in the observation period before I eventually add them to my DT.

davocean
06/24/2014, 07:50 AM
Sounds to me like they are fairly young and most likely will pair up w/ no effort on your end at all.
Post some pics.

kenman345
06/24/2014, 08:00 AM
Sounds to me like they are fairly young and most likely will pair up w/ no effort on your end at all.
Post some pics.

What site should I use? I only have pics from before treatment/middle of treatment. I ended treatment last night but I just upgraded the light so it should give me better pictures tonight when I try.