PDA

View Full Version : Flame Angel Death

RussKubes
06/25/2014, 07:15 PM
I'm pretty new to keeping an aquarium and just experienced my first fish death. I think it has to do with the fact that my A/C broke yesterday; but I want to be sure in case I need to take action to protect the rest of my fish.

I added the Flame Angel on 6/11; from Blue Zoo Aquatics.

On the first three days, it would not eat mysis or brine shrimp. It would only peck at the rocks. On the fourth day I added garlic to the food and it ate plenty.

Since then, I had no issues getting him to eat; and only had to use the garlic once. I rotated between Hikari frozen brine, nysis, and angelfish food. He happily ate whatever I put in.

As previously stated, the A/C broke yesterday. I have a computer which measures the temp and automatically shuts off the lights once it reaches 83.5. Even after this point, the temps continued to rise before I got home, reaching a high of 84.7 degrees.

I brought the temperature down overnight, and when the lights came on this morning, I found the Angel to look slightly pale between his stripes - where it normally was red, it was more of an orange/yellow. He was also not swimming with nearly as much energy as usual. When I fed them, he ate normally. Then I went out for a few hours.

I came home and found him in the corner of the tank laying on his back (upside down) on the bottom - just breathing but not moving anything else. Not even his fins were moving. After about 5 minutes, the breathing seemed to stop. After a couple more minutes, he began to seize (very rapid twitching of all muscles) [symptom of whatever killed him or normal part of dying?]. He eventually landed in a cave under the most difficult rock to reach inside of the tank, and I believe he is now dead.

Aside from the paleness, I do not see anything else wrong with him. He does not have any spots. His eyes look fine. There is no visible damage. Fins are all 100% in tact.

----
Tank Info
----