PDA

View Full Version : Brain coral (dead)

Powx
06/26/2014, 06:07 AM
I am new to the hobby and have a unique question. Around 1989 I traveled to Jamacia and ended up bringing home a chunk of brain coral, weights about 30-40 lbs. It was already dried out when I was given it, I was 13 at the time, I know now that I shouldn't have brought it back with me, but it's here. It is the size of a 2 year olds head, looks like a brain for those who do not know, and my question is if it would potentially harm the reef tank I am setting up. It has been displayed on a shelf for 20+ years but I think it would add a definite uniqueness to my reef tank. Any issue I should be concerned with regarding this?

billdogg
06/26/2014, 06:23 AM
rinse it well and you will be good to go. Where do you think "reef rock" comes from?

Powx
06/26/2014, 06:33 AM
I knew where reef rock came from :lol:

Just wasn't sure if there may be any negatives associated with it.

Congrats on rotm too! Your tank looks great!

m0nkie
06/26/2014, 11:15 AM
cool. some pictures would be great!

Powx
06/26/2014, 11:32 AM
Just got the brain coral rinsed off, here are a couple pics!

Won't let me upload more than one per post, but one gives a good idea of it ;)

billdogg
06/26/2014, 11:43 AM
That will look really cool.

inetmug
06/26/2014, 11:53 AM
maybe bleach it out first if you want that fresh new look?

Mike Ordner
06/26/2014, 03:14 PM
Back in the early 80's I was on a college trip to Mexico and brought back a large brain coral head (can't do that now). Lot of time between now and then but still had a chunk left and it is in my DT now. Have encrusting coral growing over it now.

cloak
06/26/2014, 03:32 PM
IMHO, I would just keep it on the shelf. Maybe bleach it before doing so though.