PDA

View Full Version : Threaded Plumbing

d2mini
07/01/2014, 08:27 AM
Hi all, just curious what you think is the best way to make threaded plumbing watertight, rather than slip plumbing with glue? Plumbers tape? Something else? And who likes to use threaded vs slip?

When i put together my current plumbing setup with expensive sch 80 pipe and valves, i used slip fittings and now those expensive valves would be trash if I ever need to change things up.
I need to add one or two to my system and plan on going with threaded this time.

hllywd
07/01/2014, 09:19 AM
Your existing plumbing isn't necessarily "trash" when you need to change it... If you ever did need to take it apart, assuming you have the space, you can cut it and add unions that would allow reassembly. I would recommend the same with your new additions.

ryanerickson
07/01/2014, 09:36 AM
I'm a plumber and I would suggest staying with the slip fitting threaded seems to always find a waY to leak on my reflow pump I had to connect a 1.5 threaded fitting I used Teflon and then reef safe silicon year and a bit later it found a way to slowly leek. As hllywd said use unions if wanna cut and put back together. And by the way sch 80 is crazy over kill on a reef tank sch40 is just fine. In canada we use sch80 for higher pressure lines in the dirt. Example water distribution under a large warehouse.

d2mini
07/01/2014, 09:38 AM
Your existing plumbing isn't necessarily "trash" when you need to change it... If you ever did need to take it apart, assuming you have the space, you can cut it and add unions that would allow reassembly. I would recommend the same with your new additions.

Yes, I plan on that if I have a problem and have the room.

d2mini
07/01/2014, 09:40 AM
And by the way sch 80 is crazy over kill on a reef tank sch40 is just fine. In canada we use sch80 for higher pressure lines in the dirt. Example water distribution under a large warehouse.