PDA

View Full Version : New to Hobby. Questions. Issues. Help Needed!!!

Nitzanah
07/08/2014, 04:54 PM
Hi Everyone!

I'm completely new to this to please be specific if you answer any questions or offer an advice. I don't know the abbreviations of all the terms yet so, again, bear with me!

I recently setup a nuvo 16. It's the stock, out-of-the-box setup with the lights and filters and whatnot that came with it all. I also have a heater set to 78 and a Hydor Koralia Nano 240 Aquarium Circulation Pump 240 GPH on one side. I'm about to add a second circulation pump to the other side as soon as it arrives in the mail. The store mixed the water so I don't know the salinity. I'm in the process of getting a refractometer. The guy at the store told me to put some live rock in it and let it run for about 2 weeks. So I did.

Then we went back to the store and picked up some coral, 2 fish, an emerald crab, a yellow watchman goby and this ugly shrimp who appears to be MIA but I'm not sure yet.

So, we brought everything home and did the 45 minute thing and added water every 15 minutes like the woman at the store told us to do. The guy at the shop also tested my water
pH 8.0
Ammonia 0
Free Amonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 0

My fish and goby are doing great. They're eating, swimming and look great. Yesterday my coral was open and flowing and my crab was moving all over the place.

Today.... all the coral is pretty much closed and my crab is hiding in a hole in the live rock. I imagine the crab is more nocturnal since we bought him and brought him home yesterday around 7pm but he's filthy. I know he's a cleaning crab but the crabs at the store in the demo tanks did not look like this.

I don't know what my coral is called. Sorry. I'm going back to the shop in the next day or so to find out but I've uploaded some photos.

So my questions are:

Coral:
1. Should I be worried about the coral not opening up? It's only been in the tank for 2 days.