PDA

View Full Version : Please help me enter this hobby safely, responsibly and not learn the hard way.

Jorday
07/10/2014, 07:02 PM
Hi,

This is my 2nd post following my introduction post. For the past 18 months I've been reading, searching, reading sticky threads, watching videos for beginners and just lurking overall on reefing forums in order to gain as much knowledge before I make my first attempt at this. In this thread I'd like to run my plan by you all in order to receive come constructive criticism before I even buy anything. Please try to cut me some slack if I am way off. I've never done this before, and everything I know comes from reading and watching videos. There are bound to be some deficiencies. I'm a little bit nervous to begin to be honest. So I want to take it slow and minimize casualties that will result from my newbie mistakes.

The general feeling I get from reading posts and watching videos from reefers that seem to be veterans is that I probably should focus on patience and water quality, and make whatever I actually want from this hobby secondary goals. If I can do that then I have the reasonable chance that the things I want will come in time. Failure to do those things seems to burn everyone eventually. I want to develop as many good habits as possible from day one.