PDA

View Full Version : Tap Water in a Coral System...?

Spiffy
07/14/2014, 07:42 PM
After reviewing a thread started by Paul B, which you can find here (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2421363), I started to question if I need to do more for my tank in terms of water quality. But the thing is, I have been using de-chlorinated tap water for almost 4 years, and I have never had a problem. No algae explosions, no diatoms, no sick fish, nothing. Unless you count the clarity issue that I had when I was running a canister, but that cleared after I started my sump, I have had 0 problems.

Now I will establish this: I have not had any corals or any sensitive fish in this tank. But now that I plan to start getting into corals, I decided to invest in an RO/DI system. But with this thing, as confusing as it was to set it up and get it to the point of producing water with the crappy water pressure that I have, I can't help but wonder how the system would fare if I keep using tap water. Yes, I know that there is a load of stuff to take into account with water quality and coral-keeping, but Paul's post has thinking about if they would adapt or not. And yes, I know that I will need a booster pump soon.

Now this is just a random rant, but maybe someone has some knowledge to pass. Maybe there is someone using tap water in a coral system. :hmm4:

Deton8it
07/14/2014, 07:55 PM
I just bought my first RO unit. I have gone tap water only for almost 10 years. I bought the RO to use in a tank that I have not set up yet and to see what all the fuss is about. None of my corals were all that difficult to care for. The most sensitive thing I had was a clam for 2 years until I sold him.

John

thegrun
07/14/2014, 10:37 PM