PDA

View Full Version : Cheatomorpha macro not growing

Scuba Sleeve
07/24/2014, 10:14 PM
Hi I'm new to reef central but hoping for some help. I bought a handful of chaeto from my LFS for my 20 gallon refugium about a month ago. I rubber banded it to a piece of live rock. I was told this stuff grows fast but mine doesn't seem to be. It looks healthy but not growing much at all. I've had it for several weeks with very minimal growth. I've got a 6500k 100 watt CPFL light bulb lighting the macro about 12 hours a day. Any thoughts/suggestions? Should I even be concerned?

90 gallon FOWLR tank setup 100 lbs. live rock. 20 gallon refugium with miracle mud.

Titans_Reef
07/24/2014, 10:19 PM
How much flow do you have in your 20g refugium? Cheato perfer higher flow but will still grow in low flow but slower. What I do to mine is I pull it apart so the light can reach the middle of it. I also let it go free around the fuge and not tie it up to a rock. Ive trimmed mine down from 5x the original size in a month and just give it to my LFS for credit. If you have low phosphates and nitrates then the cheato will also grow slow but still grow.

apexkeeper
07/24/2014, 10:19 PM
As long as its not turning white (ie dying) I wouldn't worry too much, mine took a while to really start growing like crazy and now it still grows in spurts. One thing I noticed in my limited experience though, it seems to grow ALOT better when its not attached to anything and left free to tumble. You could also try 24 hour lighting if you don't have any critters in your sump.

Scuba Sleeve
07/24/2014, 10:40 PM
Thanks for the responses. I've rubber banded it hoping it will prevent it from coming loose and flowing from my sump up into my DT. Its a hassle netting that stuff out if it does. The flow is pretty good with 0 phosphates and nitrates are 20 ppm. Its not turning white and have tons of tunicates spreading in there and many copepods and amphipods.

Heathcoot
07/24/2014, 10:51 PM