PDA

View Full Version : GFO reactors?


inetmug
07/25/2014, 02:11 PM
Spectrapure Double
BRS double
Two Little fishes 500 or 150

I have read pros/cons on each, with BRS/Spectrapure showing clogging issues at time.

Just looking for input before I buy...

d2mini
07/25/2014, 02:19 PM
NextReef.

rocsec1
07/25/2014, 03:14 PM
I use the BRS double and haven't had any problems.

TommyP
07/25/2014, 03:21 PM
I haven't had any issues with my phosban 150.

Fallling
07/25/2014, 04:11 PM
NextReef.

+1. Run mine off a manifold.

grigsy
07/25/2014, 08:45 PM
Bulk Reef Supply. Haven't had any problems with it.

sowildpaul
07/26/2014, 07:09 AM
Spectrapure Double
BRS double
Two Little fishes 500 or 150

I have read pros/cons on each, with BRS/Spectrapure showing clogging issues at time.

Just looking for input before I buy...In order to replace GFO, you have to disconnect the inlet/outlet if you have PhosBan, NextReef reactor or others like them (you'd have to take the whole unit out) while you don't have to disconnect the inlet/outlet if you have Spectrapure or BRS unit. Either way, you can return it for a full refund if you are not satisfied.

Uncle Luke
07/26/2014, 08:29 AM
Tlf… Cheap and effective.

ken6217
07/26/2014, 09:05 AM
NextReef.

Dennis, I notice that these are large units. I only put about 10 or 12 tablespoons of Rowaphos in my Phosban reactor. I was thinking of getting the NextReef. Is it too big for that amount of GFO?

Thanks,
Ken

d2mini
07/26/2014, 09:34 AM
Dennis, I notice that these are large units. I only put about 10 or 12 tablespoons of Rowaphos in my Phosban reactor. I was thinking of getting the NextReef. Is it too big for that amount of GFO?

Thanks,
Ken

Yeah, i only put a cup in mine (about 16 tbsp) and there is tons of room left.
Either of us could probably get the "shorty" instead of the MR1, but I wanted to play it safe.

What I like about these compared to the BRS reactors (nothing agains BRS, great guys) is that they fluidize the media really well with much less water pressure and the flow doesn't usually need to be adjusted over time, which was a problem I was having with the BRS. I also find these a little less messy when it comes time to change the media. I needed a bucket under the BRS ones when unscrewing them from the mount. If I'm careful, very little water spills with the NextReef. Usually there is some water that drains back into the sump, so the water is not right at the very tip top of the reactor as I'm trying to move it to my sink.

ken6217
07/26/2014, 10:03 AM
Thanks. I'll pick one ip.

d2mini
07/26/2014, 10:19 AM
Thanks. I'll pick one ip.

Pick up a couple extra sponges while you're at it so you'll have them. I wish I did that. I keep putting off ordering new ones. lol
Are you going to go with the shorty? I wouldn't mind seeing a pic of it filled/running so I can compare it to the MR1.

mikeatjac
07/26/2014, 10:28 AM
Don't get the "shorty" nextreef. Get the regular nextreef and you do not have to use the sponges, no issues running gfo but I might with the "shorty".

ken6217
07/26/2014, 10:37 AM
I'm going to get the regular size. I heard bigger is better. :)

d2mini
07/26/2014, 10:42 AM
Get the regular nextreef and you do not have to use the sponges

Oh, really?
Not even the bottom one?

dukduk
07/26/2014, 12:21 PM
:eek:Aquatop

mikeatjac
07/26/2014, 02:25 PM
Oh, really?
Not even the bottom one?

Nope, have not for two years. Think about it, the water goes down the center pipe to the bottom so the only place where gfo could exit is at the top.

firemountain
07/26/2014, 05:00 PM
Spectrapure dual...Carbon/GFO. Has separate controls for each side.

sowildpaul
07/26/2014, 05:24 PM
Nope, have not for two years. Think about it, the water goes down the center pipe to the bottom so the only place where gfo could exit is at the top.
What if the pump that feeds water into your GFO reactor without bottom sponge foam is turned off, won't it backsiphon into your pump and cause damage to it?

mikeatjac
07/26/2014, 06:08 PM
What if the pump that feeds water into your GFO reactor without bottom sponge foam is turned off, won't it backsiphon into your pump and cause damage to it?


No. Well not if the reactor is not set up higher than you sump.