PDA

View Full Version : Absolutely Discouraged New Aquarist

Menders
07/31/2014, 03:02 AM
Obviously I'm new to the hobby and haven't battled half of the problems advance aquarist have had over their triumphant and not so triumphant years of reefing. I have never been so discouraged as I currently am now.
As if feeling the loss of one of my first and favorite fish (a birthday present) that past away last night due to a powerhead incident hasn't been bad enough, I have a damsel and yellow kole eye tang terrorizing a recently added pink spotted watchman goby. :angryfire:I can't believe how bad these two fish are being and are ganging up together to bully the goby.
Unfortunately and regretfully I do not have a quarantine tank set up or else this would help alleviate some of the stress on not only the goby but myself as well.:headwally: The problem is they have harassed this fish so much to the point he is about ready to die. It's going on the 5th night and it is just getting more and more intolerable. The goby has stopped eating today and is breathing and acting weird. He keeps trying to hide and there is a nice cave for him that he has been hiding in, however, the other two fish just keep swimming in the cave and fanning their tail and hovering on top of the goby.:uzi: I seriously think the goby doesn't have the strength to keep defending himself like he was doing the first couple of days.
I feel absolutely terrible for this fish that I have put it in this environment and don't know what to do now. I tried catching him and putting him in this plastic carrier tank so he wouldn't be bothered but the attempt has failed. I did turn off all lights in hopes of helping them all calm down but I don't think that matters to the bully crew. I've been so ****ed off at the damsel and tang :angryfire:that my enjoyment of this hobby has now taken a toll in the wrong direction. :(