PDA

View Full Version : coral buying

greencrack1166
08/04/2014, 08:30 PM
Hey everybody, im new to hobby. I have a red sea max 250. My tank has been stable with fish for about a month not counting cycle time. Im looking to invest in coral. Does anyone know a reliable and cheap source to buy large coral. Not really interested in starting from frags if possible.

Crooked Reef
08/04/2014, 08:45 PM
Assuming your cycle time was adequate and your tank is truly ready, try liveaquaria or divers den on liveaquaria. I have also gotten a few from saltyunderground.com. Be aware that some corals need more care than others and you will wind up paying a premium for big pieces no matter where they are from. Stores can make more fragging them. Look on craigslist too for someone breaking down an existing system.

Oh, and of course on this site in the local forums.

radobahn
08/04/2014, 10:19 PM
One of my favorites so far is UniqueCorals.com, I've used them a few times and have never had a problem. I've also used Divers Den like Crooked Reef suggested, and also got lucky with a couple ebay purchases. Be careful with coral pics taken under actinics, blue LEDS, etc to make colors pop..

I've seen plenty of large coral colonies for sale but they definitely aren't cheap. I've always started with frags.. good luck :)

Big_Boss_77
08/05/2014, 02:01 AM
On average how long does it take a frag to turn in to a massive colony like you see in the pet store?

Titans_Reef
08/05/2014, 02:37 AM
http://www.exotic-reefs.com is pretty good and has great deals on designer clowns with anemones. All the corals I bought from him have done well and are growing. Which I got a pair of onyx clowns from him and im just waiting on it to come in.

Rob6311
08/05/2014, 07:07 AM