PDA

View Full Version : brs reef saver rock / algae

geckoejon
08/13/2014, 01:36 PM
hello,

i already have 3 tanks going... mixed reef, frogfish/nem duplex, and a clown cube. i wanted to add some rock. so....

on july 23, 2014 i placed an order to brs that included reef saver rock and some regular reef rock rubble. the day that it arrived, i stuck it into buckets with saltwater and a powerhead
for circulation. this is how i have cured rock numerous times. it has
been cooking for several weeks now.

i looked in yesterday, and there is a bright green algae growing on the rock! this is my first time using reef saver rock. is this normal??? it sure doesn't look normal...

if you notice that some of the rock in the orange bucket does not have the algae. that is the regular reef rock rubble. if it seems like if it was the curing method, then it would be growing on all the rock, and not just on the reef saver.

i'm not sure what is up with this reef saver rock, but i hope this doesn't continue to have algae issues...

thoughts?

Fade2White12
08/13/2014, 01:54 PM
It looks like Cyano...

Did you rinse it first? Is there a reason you are either lighting it or leaving the bins uncovered? You should have 0 algae if the rocks were kept in darkness.

geckoejon
08/13/2014, 02:57 PM
It looks like Cyano...

Did you rinse it first? no, why would i have to rinse man made rock?

Is there a reason you are either lighting it or leaving the bins uncovered? i am not doing either. the buckets have the lids on except for the crack in order to get the power head cord through.

You should have 0 algae if the rocks were kept in darkness.exactly.... that is why i wrote the original post...

once again.... notice the orange bucket has some rock that is algae free and some rock that has algae? the algae free rock is real reef rock. the algae covered rock is reef saver....