PDA

View Full Version : New tank advice needed!

kekke1082
08/29/2014, 11:11 PM
Hello RC members! I'm very new to saltwater aquariums and i have a few questions. If there are any questions i forget to ask let me know lol. First question: I have 8 unused 10gallon aquariums ideally I'd like to use one or two for nano reef setups, what are good beginners for nano reefs ( fish and inverts or species specific)? Second question: Ideally I'd like to use one or more of my empty tanks for sumps and refugiums, any thoughts on how to possibly connect multiple tanks to create one continuous system(i.e 3 tanks sharing a sump and refugium and increasing overall water volume)? Third question: I'm a Florida resident, what native species would you recommend for a beginner to keep?

One more thing, I'm also going to be purchasing a much larger aquarium next week for my bday something between 55 and 90 gallons. What beginner fish could be kept in a tank of this size? I'd really like community fish if possible. As you van tell i have plenty of time on my hands for maintenance. Thanks sin advance for reading!

nmotz
08/30/2014, 12:02 AM
I've heard many say that 55 gallon tanks are a pain to aquascape because they are too narrow. Go 75G possibly.

There are plenty of ways you can connect three or more of those tanks together. You just need the right equipment or to know someone who can do the glass drilling for you. Or you can buy an overflow box and some tubing. You could get (or make) a sturdy 3 level shelf system with your refugium on top, display in the middle and sump on the bottom, all connected.