PDA

View Full Version : To DSB or Not to DSB!

JustAHobbiest
10/06/2014, 07:35 AM
Hello everyone, the names Chris. Im new to the RC and fairly new to saltwater. As all new hobbiest I've been doing plenty of researching and finally I have found a topic I just can't seem to get an answer to, sand beds. My tank is a 180g bowfront pre-drilled with a 40g DIY sump. I plan on it being a reef with fish mix. I'd really love to know everything there is about sand beds the pros, the cons, and what really is the best method and how to go about maintaining it. Thanks in advance.

murdock84
10/06/2014, 08:52 AM
There are articles about sand beds here.

http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=803688

reefgeezer
10/06/2014, 08:58 AM
There are lot of ways to reduce nitrate. A DSB is certainly one of them if you can manage it correctly. However, it isn't as simple as it seems to make a DSB work for the long haul. I'd stay away from a DSB unless you truly understand how they work.

SGT_York
10/06/2014, 09:11 AM
Too many problems with a DSB to recommend it for. You need the fauna built up for it to work correctly and not turn anoxic, keep with a small sand bed and in a few months consider adding more sand.

swk
10/06/2014, 11:05 AM
I use a dsb in my fuge. Wouldn't dare use one in my tank

shermanator
10/06/2014, 11:31 AM
If you only want it to reduce nitrates, use an RDSB in a bucket fed from your sump.

If you want it for all of the DSB fauna, then use the fuge section of your sump for the DSB.

I'd say no matter what, since you are "fairly new" to the hobby, I'd keep it out of your DT.

JustAHobbiest
10/08/2014, 01:42 PM
So with that bein said.. I take it all of you go the Chaeto way?

JustAHobbiest
10/08/2014, 01:47 PM
Btw thanks for all the replies really appreciate it.

Nicmar
10/08/2014, 04:04 PM
I am setting up a new tank from 4ft bare bottom to 5ft.