PDA

View Full Version : Help with cycle start please

xaflatoonx
10/07/2014, 11:47 AM
My tank is going to be a 90 Gallon fish focused with a few corals tank. I am new to the hobby so dont have any old equipment - buying and getting all new stuff.

I have purchased 80 lbs of Dry rock.

http://www.amazon.com/Carib-Sea-ACS00370-Aquarium-40-Pound/dp/B0017JBX7M/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1412703661&sr=8-3&keywords=dry+rock

So i plan to set up my tank and sump and all this weekend.

But i understand that i need to "cure" my rock separately since I will be needing to flush the water used to cure it anyway.

So please help me with the process. I am sure this like a second nature to a lot of you - but a quick step by step one liners will really help.

Or help me by editing the steps below.

1. Get a brute trash can that is clean
2. Fill it up with filtered tap water (filter i have in my refrigerator)
3. Add salt
4. Add dry rock
5. Add 5 lbs live rock ( i am going to get from LFS )
5. Add power head and heater

Let this sit and check for levels every other day till i get the 0-0-0.

As i understand it - this process is to CURE THE DEAD ROCK and get it ready to be transferred into the DT. The cycle process for the tank is separate and will require RO/DI filtered water.

Comments?

as always - thank you all for the guidance.

xaflatoonx
10/07/2014, 02:22 PM
quoting lion king..

somebody..... anybody?

wooden_reefer
10/07/2014, 03:05 PM
One advantage of cycling the rock outside its intended tank is that the quality of the cycling water has nothing to do with the water quality of the tank right after the cycle.

You can use a tall container and hence only a fraction of the water to cycle and then dump the cycling water, rinse the rock with new tank water, and then add to the sump of the tank.

In such a cycle, you are not concerned about the cycling water having too much nitrate or other waste, as all will be rinsed out.

thegrun
10/07/2014, 03:14 PM