PDA

View Full Version : Ballast Variation

this is me
10/20/2014, 01:52 PM
I'm not sure if my ballasts are old or if this is common among all ballasts.
I have a two 250DE set up and from all my years in this hobby, I've collected 7 different IceCap ballasts. Three of them are the really old one without the heatsink case so I tend to just disregard those.
I've been running into issue of color matching on two Pheonix 14K. One of the ballast is drawing 2.0Amps, the second one draws 1.6Amps, and the third one drawing 2.3 Amps. I can see pretty obvious color and brightness variation. The one drawing 2.0Amps is what I'm used to. The 1.6Amps is noticeable dimmer and the 2.3Amps makes the bulb yellow.
Does anymore have this kind of issue? Wonder if this is only on IceCap ballasts.

Incaico
10/20/2014, 08:17 PM
I have used icecap before and have had bad luck. I try and stay away from them.

alton
10/21/2014, 05:29 AM
I have been using Electronic ballast since 2004, they either work or don't they don't. If you have one that is drawing 1.6 amps it maybe a 175w? 175w/.9 eff = 194w/120v = 1.62 amps

Jeremy B.
10/21/2014, 08:03 AM
Hey Nick, just to eliminate anything weird going on with the lamps try and move one or two to a different ballast and see if you're still getting the same results or not. My guess is that you probably won't, but it eliminates a variable. Also, do all three of your ballasts look the same, meaning are they the same generation IceCap ballast that you're using?

this is me
10/21/2014, 09:38 AM
Hi Jeremy,
I can take a picture of all the ballasts I have and the current draw when I get home and do a detail analysis on this. It just that due the nature of Metal Halide, I have to wait 10-15minutes between swapping out the ballast because the bulb is too hot to fire. I always thought that these IceCap ballasts are known for their reliability and I can attest to that since one of these ballasts is my first ever since 2002.