PDA

View Full Version : Help! My powder blue tang has a bubble in one eye!

ReeFreak1
10/20/2014, 06:55 PM
Hi all. I am new to RC, but I have been doing a lot of reading in the past and found very informative and helpful posts. I hope someone could help me with my situation.

Anyway, I purchased a powder blue tang a month ago and it was in bad shape. I was willing to put tremendous effort to save the poor thing. It was very skinny, hid all the time, and barely ate. I battled skin flukes, Gill flukes, Fin and tail rot, and mouth deterioration in a QT tank with hypo setup. I won the battle rounds so far and got the fish pretty healthy. However, a week ago, after a FW bath, she appeared to be extra stressed and appeared to be blind for a couple of hours. The sight came back, but I noticed what appears to be an air bubble in one eye. This bubble has been growing steadily since that time. The cornea sticks out about an eighth of an inch now. Her eyeball is clear and in place and the bubble is just beneath the cornea forming a cone shape. She doesn't seem to be bothered by it, though I don't think she can see well in it. I don't know if this is Popeye, but I used Epsom salt today hoping the bubble would vanish.

Any information or suggestions on this case would be highly appreciated.

Apotack
10/21/2014, 05:54 PM
I had a raccoon butterfly that had an eye problem that left it blind in one eye. Didn't bother the fish at all, lived like that for many years.

ReeFreak1
10/21/2014, 06:59 PM
Thanks for the feedback Apotack. I read it is not life threatening. I still hope to be able to cure it though. It looks like a clear balloon attached to the eye. The eye ball is intact but the cornea is inflated. It might be a water bubble not air as I stated earlier. I can't tell. Epsom salt doesn't seem to change anything so far.

I have been raising salinity to get out of hypo for a week now. Could this be a reason?

I'm going to try and post pics.

ReeFreak1
10/21/2014, 07:06 PM