PDA

View Full Version : Camera Advice

alb_56
10/24/2014, 11:18 AM
So I am sure there are tons of threads on this but it's always easier to just ask so here goes. I have zero experience with actual good cameras and would like to take good quality pictures of my tank. I need advice on what camera is best that won't break the bank. I have no preference about age or weight as long as it produces nice clear crisp macro photos. Any advice is welcome and thanks in advance for your opinion.

Misled
10/24/2014, 11:43 AM
You at least need to come up with what you're willing to spend. And you're better off owning the bank.

alb_56
10/24/2014, 11:49 AM
I guess 300$ area would be a good target. I just didn't know if that range would get a decent camera.

badguitarist
11/10/2014, 02:59 AM
bumping this thread because I was about to post one saying the exact same thing. Im hoping for the same price range as well.

toothybugs
11/10/2014, 10:51 AM
There are some macro/ magnifying add-on lenses for some point-n-shoots though I will admit I don't know much about them as I've never looked. But if you want to go DSLR (which most of us here do) the lowest Canon model is a T3 for around $400-450 with the 50mm macro lens for another 300. That's for true macro though, and a 50mm macro lens really limits your range. I haven't looked in to Nikon but I would imagine their baselines are similar.

JaYbIrD1969
11/10/2014, 01:12 PM