PDA

View Full Version : Wide open advice opportunity! 29G startup

gmgaj
10/29/2014, 04:54 PM
I'm completely new to reef aquariums. I have been reading and have a few ideas of what I want and what I think I need to start out. I'm looking to set up a basic tank and not get too tech-y on it yet. I'm an engineer--that will come soon enough.

Here's what I have:

29G standard (30 X 12 X 18) with stand and hood with single standard flourescent bulb. That's it. There is about 2 1/2" of crushed coral in the bottom (at least that is what the guy who sold it to me said, but then again, he said it was a 40 gallon). The whole setup was too cheap to pass up, so I figured I'll set it up and have a go at it. Aside from that, I'm wide open to setting things up. My only criteria is that I don't want to spend a fortune(but I know it won't be cheap), and I don't really need all of the latest gadgets. This is an easy entry attempt. I'm going to try to realistic enough to not get in over my head right away. Again, that will come soon enough. :D

So far, the only thing I think I want is some zoas. I haven't seen anything firsthand, so there aren't any preferences there yet. I would like to keep things easy to keep for this first go. I suspect that if it works out well, I'll probably end up with a bigger, more advanced tank.

So what would you all recommend for a completely green (aside from some reading on RC) noob with an empty, undrilled 29 gallon aquarium? I'm still working on a equipment/supplies list, but it keeps changing. I'll withhold that info for now so I won't skew any responses. Thanks for the responses, and the helpful site to research on!

ShannyG
10/29/2014, 05:23 PM
Howdy!