PDA

View Full Version : Kaudern's Cardinal semi-aggression question.

goncharkina
10/30/2014, 09:01 AM
Hi Reef Central, I am very new to this, hoping for some expert advice.
I have a 150 gallon system, it is FOWLR huge tank. When I started, I added two little kaudern's cardinals together. They came from the same store, were quarantined together for 21 day with no problems, added to the tank at the same time. For the first couple weeks they were best friends swimming around with other fish. Last night I noticed that one cardinal is chasing the other (smaller) cardinal, and does not allow him to leave the rockwork. There are no problems between them during feed time (both eat like crazy), but I am not sure what is the problem. The tank is huge for two little cardinals and two clowns, there is enough food, etc. Any suggestions? What should I do for them to get along the way it used to be? :hmm2:

mbauma
10/30/2014, 09:24 AM
I have 5 in my 140 and they have been there for about 4 months and are doing ok. Once in a while, I will see one chase another for a few seconds, but it has never gone beyond that. I would just watch them and see if it gets worse.

Worst case, you may have to take 1 back to the store where you got them.

eatbreakfast
10/30/2014, 09:40 AM
Has the aggression only been in the evening? If so you likely have a pr and the male was holding a brood in his mouth. The evening is when they release the young, and even though they are the parents, they may still hunt the young, a.d this aggression toward the partner is just instinct sensing a threat to the young. The behavior should subside after the young are released, although they may spawn and hold eggs/young every couple of weeks.

goncharkina
10/30/2014, 11:29 AM