PDA

View Full Version : how to reduce flow in sump?

Drummond
11/13/2014, 01:23 PM
I'm in the process of putting together a new sump, probably about 30g. My return will be pumping 750 gph from the basement to the DT. I haven't decided on an external panworld or an internal waveline dc pump. I want the skimmer section flow to cut in half, maybe 325-375 gph. How would I go about doing this? I'm new to sumps. Thanks for the help :)

RocketEngineer
11/13/2014, 01:31 PM
My question is why? Flow through the skimmer section ensures that the water in that part of the sump has the same level of nutrients as the water in the display. You don't want the display to have a higher concentration of nutrients than the sump because then the skimmer can't pull what's in the display out of the water. With enough flow the entire volume of the system is exposed to the skimmer, not just a small portion resident in the sump.

Drummond
11/13/2014, 02:05 PM
My question is why? Flow through the skimmer section ensures that the water in that part of the sump has the same level of nutrients as the water in the display. You don't want the display to have a higher concentration of nutrients than the sump because then the skimmer can't pull what's in the display out of the water. With enough flow the entire volume of the system is exposed to the skimmer, not just a small portion resident in the sump.

I'm still looking for a skimmer but there seems to be a pretty big price difference between one that can handle 375 gph and one that can handle 750 gph? Several hundred dollars unless I'm looking at the date wrong. I'm just trying to stay within a budget.

ca1ore
11/13/2014, 02:16 PM
The amount of water flowing through the skimmer section has no bearing on, and no relationship to, the pump rating on the skimmer or the size tank it is rated for.

RocketEngineer
11/13/2014, 02:17 PM