PDA

View Full Version : Best way to remove copper after treatment?

Vapour1ze
11/17/2014, 02:41 PM
I am currently running cupramine in a qt tank on my two clowns... Once treatment is complete. I am supposed to run carbon obviously. But how? Reactor? Bag in the HOB Filter? I'm new to the QT game.

Thanks

billdogg
11/17/2014, 03:14 PM
It will be most effective in a reactor. If the treatment is done, can't the fish be placed in the DT and then just dump out the QT?

Vapour1ze
11/17/2014, 03:16 PM
Well, yes in theory. However I have to leave my tank fallow for 10 weeks since ICH broke out... Treatment is already happening on the clowns because I didn't want to lose them. I don't want to have them in copper for 10 weeks....

thegrun
11/17/2014, 03:16 PM
Make a large water change and use carbon. The carbon is more effective in a reactor, but a bag in the HOB filter will work.

slief
11/17/2014, 03:42 PM
Carbon is essential. You can also use SeaChem Cuprisorb.
http://www.seachem.com/Products/product_pages/CupriSorb.html

cabinetman123
11/17/2014, 04:43 PM
I second the cuprisorb. I coppered my 300 rocks and all and after running cuprisorb for 2 months I started adding coral. One year later it was a beautiful reef. My sig shows what it looked like a year after copper.

asonitez
11/17/2014, 04:47 PM