PDA

View Full Version : In Tank noise levels

Jeff72
12/11/2014, 06:09 AM
Good Morning All,

I am new to the forum, but have been using it for reference for a few years now. I am no expert when it comes to reef keeping, but not a complete novice either. I have been doing this for about 6 years now.

I have a question about the noise levels in the tank. I am sure the noise in mine must be causing stress.

I have a 90 gallon reef. Set up almost one year ago on Jan 1, 2014. ATI pro gamble lights, bubble mag skimmer, equipment sump, separate refugium (or pod tank! - depending on the opinion of the day!) about, 125 - 135 gallons water total in system. Roughly 200 - 250 lbs live rock in system (I had a lot of live rock from two previous larger systems, but I didn't keep track of what/how much I put in this one) not much for live stock right now. Hammer head, aus elegance. Various paly's and Zoas. Two ocellaris, one blenny, one Mandarin (just introduced - very healthy supply of pods) one dwarf coral beauty, two fire blood shrimp. With much more planned in the very near future.

everything seems to be nicely settled at this point and ready to be stocked. Mostly sps, a few low flow areas for LPS. No softies in this one. I have tested for mag, kal, ph, alk, cal, about two months ago, everything was good. Should be - not much there to change it in this tank yet.

For water movement - one corner over flow, with a return. Mag 9.5 on the return. The refugium is taken from the entrance side of the equipment sump and returned to the opposite side, by passing the skimer and directly beside the overflow return. In tank there are two korillias 1150 and 1450 and one MP40w. The mp40 just replaced two other korillias of same sizes.

My question in all of this is this: how much in tank noise is too much?