PDA

View Full Version : Reefbreeders photon 48 or kessil 360we x2

rtague
12/16/2014, 04:59 PM
How do you think a photon 48 would match up against 2 kessil 360we over a standard 75 ,softies,nems ,lps.The photon would run $500,the kessils with controller around $1000.Are the kessils really that much better?

janes_mw
12/16/2014, 05:41 PM
you will get alot of opinions on this, but there is no way 2x better. A photon 48 over a 75 will be running at probably 70% max on the blues. I have one on my 120 and growth is great. I have been doing since 1988 with MH's and then T5's. I was skeptical at first, but for my 300 new build, I am using two over that (8' tank). Plus Logan at Reefbreeders is second to none when it comes to customer service.

slief
12/16/2014, 06:10 PM
If you like shimmer equivalent of natural sunlight and more akin to metal halide, then the Kessil is a better choice. I also think the Kessils offer a better spectrum. My tank is primarily soft corals with some hammers mixed in. I've been running LED's for 4 years now and switched to 8 Kessil 360WE's over my 48"x96" footprint a few months back. The results have been stunning with my corals growing faster then ever.

I obviously love the shimmer and wanted the ability to control my lights via my Apex but there is nothing wrong with the Reefbreeders fixture either. They are good lights backed with great support.

rtague
12/16/2014, 06:30 PM
Thanks Janes,Sleif,,yeah,can't beat that kessil shimmer, but 2x the price for a 75,I dunno, how's the shimmer factor with the reef breeders?

janes_mw
12/16/2014, 06:47 PM
Kessils are known for the shimmer factor for sure. It is all a matter of budget and how you want to spend your dollars. Both have excellent resale as well.

rtague
12/16/2014, 07:50 PM
Kessils are known for the shimmer factor for sure. It is all a matter of budget and how you want to spend your dollars. Both have excellent resale as well.