PDA

View Full Version : Beginner Buying Used Tank

EvenFurther
12/17/2014, 10:33 AM
What advice can anybody throw my way when buying a used tank? I'm new to this and found a really nice, clean used tank / stand / canopy. I've been looking at std 75 gal glass tanks. Drilling holes for an overflow isn't a problem.

My main concern is age of the tank. How long do the silicone seams generally hold up for? I'm going to look at the clean used tank, and they said it hasn't been used in 5 years. So who knows, the tank could be 7-10 years old.

Also I've found a new 75 gal tank for sale too, but doesn't include a stand or top.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Tom39
12/17/2014, 11:10 AM
If you are going to go the used route, check of course the most obvious, look for chips, cracked or melted frame, pealing or damaged silicone or deep scratches. There a lots of people with older tanks and if well maintained or stored, IMHO you should be ok. But then again how do you really know. 75g is a lot of water to play the guessing game with.
Also, from prior experiences with used tanks, you should go with buying new. I mainly say this because of scratches in the glass. Every tank will eventually get scratched at some point. And while saving money is nice, saving money and having to put up with a scratch in the glass is not. Especially if you did not put it there. As for the stand and canopy, lots of people build their own, me included. Going this route gives you the ability to build to suit your needs and will make having a sump and working in the sump a lot easier.

HIH
Tom

Thunderfan
12/17/2014, 12:30 PM