PDA

View Full Version : I need immediate help.

riquediz
01/03/2015, 09:08 AM
Hi,

I know these post must come everyday from newbies like myself, but im very sorry as im EXTREMELY new to this hobby. I haven't bought anything yet, since i still need to understand it first. I desire to have a 150 gallon tank, with Eels (Zebra Moray or Snowflake), Couple of tangs, Angelfishes, and etc. I have to say ive looked into fish a little, i know what to feed some and things but thats about it. Now i need help on equipment, as i dont have a single clue what i need. Again, this will be a FISH only tank (Obviously, i will buy some live rock and maybe some corals?). I'm sorry and i know this is very newbie question, but this hobby could really give meaning and change my life.

Thank You,
Hr

FraggledRock
01/03/2015, 09:11 AM
This doesnt sound like its very immediate.

Try harnessing your zen. ;)

Patience is a virtue in this hobby and research is impotant��

Start here:
http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1031074

FraggledRock
01/03/2015, 09:14 AM
I hope we wont see you asking why your sps are dying in a week.

dkeller_nc
01/03/2015, 09:18 AM
Welcome to Reef Central!

Don't worry about asking newbie questions; a lot of us more experienced hobbyists joined Reef Central to help others out.

First, and I can't emphasize this more strongly - read the threads/articles posted in the "Set-Up How-To" thread at the top of this forum. It'll take you a day or so, but for that investment in time, you'll save hundreds and possibly thousands of dollars in equipment purchases and livestock.

With respect to your fish desires, realize that eels are generally advised for experienced hobbyists. If you've a lot of experience with keeping more difficult freshwater fish such as discus or tropheus, you might do OK, but even then, switching to saltwater will have a steep learning curve.