PDA

View Full Version : Coral adding advice

KayleeAnn24
01/04/2015, 11:56 PM
So I sm brand new to having an aquarium and have no intentions of killing anything on the process of setting up my tank😄 I went to my LFS and got already made saltwater, 2lbs of live rock, and sand. It's a little tank. 3 gallons. I asked the guy at the store some questions and he didn't seem to be taking me seriously so I was wondering a few things. Should I add coral or snails first? How long after my ammonia nitrite and nitrate levels are stableized should I add them? And I read somewhere that to speed up the cycling process I could add a raw shrimp, Has anyone tried this? I'm just confused because the guy at the store was all well it sounds like you could just jump right in and start adding coral. But everything I read says not to do that.

DRE30
01/05/2015, 12:49 AM
I'm new to this n I can tell u no u can't add nothing its all about patience n a 3gl is to small if u ask me but ur in the right place to learn about the Bobby.

Docdiggy
01/05/2015, 06:43 AM
3 gallons is gonna be real hard to keep any levels stable for coral. Especially for someone just starting this.

Mrramsey
01/05/2015, 07:02 AM
So I sm brand new to having an aquarium and have no intentions of killing anything on the process of setting up my tank😄 I went to my LFS and got already made saltwater, 2lbs of live rock, and sand. It's a little tank. 3 gallons. I asked the guy at the store some questions and he didn't seem to be taking me seriously so I was wondering a few things. Should I add coral or snails first? How long after my ammonia nitrite and nitrate levels are stableized should I add them? And I read somewhere that to speed up the cycling process I could add a raw shrimp, Has anyone tried this? I'm just confused because the guy at the store was all well it sounds like you could just jump right in and start adding coral. But everything I read says not to do that.