PDA

View Full Version : Test kit recommendations .

Pistolpete122
01/24/2015, 02:12 PM
What up reefers. So I am new to saltwater world. My tank running for 6 months I have plenty of live stock for a while . I was only testing salinity , nitrate , nitrite, ph , ammonia. All levels are great now for months. I'm looking to buy a new test kit. I want a big variety of testing like masters kit to test magnisium and other things that I never tested. Also I want to buy a salinity refractor. I want a good quality for most accurate readings on everything mentioned. Looking to buy a kit once not trying to give a chance on different brands. Ok lmk. All inquires and advice given is very much appreciated.

hkgar
01/24/2015, 02:37 PM
Not sure what you are looking for but here are my favorite kits by test
Nitrate Red Sea Pro
Phosphate Hanna Phosphorus Checker
PH Salifert (actually use a probe with my Apex controller)
Unless you are also testing for Calcium )Salifert) and Alkalinity Hanna Alkalinity Checker) you don't really need to test Mag (Slifert),

Ca, Alk and Mag are usually needed in a LPS or SPS tank

Salinity:
http://www.marinedepot.com/Marine_Depot_Aquarium_Pro_Refractometer_Aquarium_Refractometers-Marine_Depot-MD2103-FITEOPRF-vi.html

b7fig
01/24/2015, 03:50 PM
I like the Hanna colormeter for phosphate and alk. And salifert for the rest.. I've tried most brands throughout the years.

bertoni
01/24/2015, 05:39 PM
I'd probably start testing alkalinity and calcium. For the, the Salifert and IO kits were fine, although the IO calcium kit was a bit slow to return a reading. Along with the refractometer, I'd spring for a calibration solution like the PinPoint 53 mS/cm<sup>2</sup>. It should measure 1.0264 SG on the refractometer. Other calibration solutions might not be appropriate, so I'd do some checking before buying one.

If the tank is doing well enough, I probably wouldn't spend any more money on testing equipment. Are there any problems showing up?

Pistolpete122