PDA

View Full Version : Algae film on tank glass -

xaflatoonx
01/29/2015, 09:29 AM
I searched but wasnt able to find the problem - although i am sure its common... So please bear with me as I am still new to this.

My tank is 4 months old.
i have a 90G tank - with a 40G sump.
Octopus 150 skimmer
Maxspect 300 LEDs about 12 inch from water level
only RO/DI water
I also run filter socks.
Used Instant ocean - but now using Reef Crystals
Water change is once a month - about 50%

My concern is the green/yellow film algae that forms on the glass of the tank.
I have a flipper scrubber that i use to clean it.

Whenever I clean it - it takes about an hour or so for it to be visible again.
Is that normal? is that because my tank is still too new?

I feed once a day - I know my bio-load is high with 15 small fish in the tank (a couple of tangs and wrasse but all small). I use one cube of brine or mysis shrimp and one small cube of baby brine. Melt it and soak it with garlic and let them have it - Its gone within a couple of minutes - so i dont think i am over feeding. I sometimes also put a little micro pellets for them to munch on at night.

What should I do?

I was advise by a few friends to run GFO.
so i will try to do that as well.

But wanted to post this and see if anyone has had this issue - or if i am doing anything wrong.

Mishri
01/29/2015, 09:32 AM
The only thing that doesn't sound normal is it taking an hour. Why so long? Do you need a new blade? Is it not hitting the glass properly? You should only need to make one pass over the glass with a razor blade. no more than 5 minutes to clean the glass.

I used to always use a plastic holder for my razor blade, hold it at a 45 degree angle and stick my arm/hand in the tank. I'd prefer to use something like a flipper, but if it takes more than 1 pass then I think I'll pass on trying the flipper.

Algae build up on the glass is normal, it's why they make products like that.

morleyz
01/29/2015, 09:34 AM