PDA

View Full Version : Can you identify this Acan?

novadan67
02/12/2015, 03:29 PM
Just wondering what kind of Acan I have. From my research, my guess would be bowerbanki, but I'm no Acan expert. I picked it up as a single head and it has not grown in 2 months. It has an endless appetite and I feed it brine, mysis, etc daily. I love it for it's color and the size of the polyp - it's bigger than the plug (1.25" plug)!

http://www.mediafire.com/convkey/5218/9mxwjafi89zojtpzg.jpg?size_id=6

Any tips to get this thing to start growing and producing more polyps?

I'm keeping it under a DIY LED light system (3W LEDS)... which produces enough light to keep a maxima clam on the sand bed. The setup is about 10 months old and my parameters are pretty steady at:
Temp = 79F
Ca = 480
Mg = 1380
KH = 10.5
pH = 8.2

Tweaked
02/12/2015, 05:05 PM
A. Lordhowensis

pow400
02/12/2015, 06:58 PM
Do you see any heads around the base? I have never had an acan with a single head but the ones I have with 3 or four heads loves to grow the new head in between the heads that are already grown. A head might just be on the underside towards the frag plug.

novadan67
02/13/2015, 09:14 AM
A. Lordhowensis
Really? It looks different in size and shape from the other Acan lords that I have. I've done a lot of google searches and it seems more similar to the bowerbanki images I have come across. I suppose those could be mis-labled as well.

novadan67
02/13/2015, 09:17 AM
Do you see any heads around the base? I have never had an acan with a single head but the ones I have with 3 or four heads loves to grow the new head in between the heads that are already grown. A head might just be on the underside towards the frag plug.
This is the only "single polyp" acan that I have as well. I'm guessing it was fragged that way because the heads are so large. I don't see any heads around the base... hopefully I will soon.