PDA

View Full Version : 299 gallon plywood build

Dproch
02/21/2015, 04:01 PM
Hello, I've started building a 299 gallon reef tank inside measures 72x31x31. The sides, back, and front rim and 1 1/8" plywood, my glass is 13mm ultra white. I've fiberglass resin/clothed all the inside corners with bondo repair kit, and now have coated with first layer of potable water grade epoxy , and criticism, ideas, or suggestions would be most helpful as I am just a stupid plumber and many of you have experience more than I in this area.

Thanks in advance for any input

How to add pictures is

Dproch
02/21/2015, 04:04 PM
13mm ultra white vs plate glass

Dproch
02/21/2015, 04:05 PM
Fiberglass corners

Dproch
02/21/2015, 04:08 PM
Potable water grade epoxy coating #1

Dproch
02/21/2015, 04:31 PM
My plan is to plant a 2x6 long the back about 1/2 way up to take care of any flex that might occur in the along the centre back, I am doing a diy live rock wall with edges and cliffs so this will be covered in white Portland and shell mixture and support the top of the cave like structure protruding from the back wall .the overflow will span the tank and be about 10" deep and will also help with any flex if still even possible. I'm pipe fitting next week with a welder so it works out perfectly for my top and bottom angle iron and flat bar braces as I did know whether or not to trust my welding :headwally:

Dproch
02/21/2015, 04:33 PM
Does anyone see any problems if I have the shop make me the over flow grill out of sheet metal on the plasma machine and epoxy coat the hell out of it

muttley000
02/22/2015, 08:45 AM
Some more pics would be most helpful, I am having a hard time grasping what you are suggesting. Did you find 1 1/8 plywood, or have to laminate it yourself?

Dproch
02/22/2015, 09:02 AM
I got 5/8 grade A ply and 1/2 one good side and contact cemented it together then pressed each sheet with 1000 pounds, It worked out very well

Dproch
02/22/2015, 09:29 AM