PDA

View Full Version : AEFW and Rock Dip

Mark426
02/22/2015, 09:33 AM
Well.....as careful as I have been, inspecting, dipping, quarantine, it has happened. I discovered that I have AEFW in several of my corals. The problem that many of us have is most of my corals are heavily encrusted.

I have an island type setup with each island mortared into one solid form that can easily be removed with the corals intact. I am wondering if I can remove each island with the corals attached and dip Bayer, rinse and return to my display. This would be the easiest way without having to frag off each acro and basically start over. What say you...doable without nuking my entire system?

Thanks reefers,
Mark

Mark426
02/23/2015, 12:12 PM
I was hoping someone would have an opinion. My only concern is will the rock absorb the Bayer dip? Any guesses?

tripdad
02/23/2015, 01:54 PM
I can give you my thoughts but I'm no expert on AEFW. I use Bayer to dip and I have had no issues yet, I say yet because I have heard of people having issues because of incomplete rinsing and getting animals deaths to to "drag in" from the dip. This would be my concern. With the rock being so porous how would you ever get all the Bayer out of it? I don't think you could and I think you would kill everything except corals in your tank. I would break them off, dip, and scrape the encrustation off the rocks to remove food source or replace rock. Sorry, I know that answer sucks but not as bad as killing your animals. Good luck. P.S. They're are a few threads on in tank treatments on this board, maybe investigate that avenue.

SneekaPeek
02/24/2015, 09:35 PM
freshwater dip the rock, bayer dip the corals. people have also vinegar dipped rock to rid of gha with no ill effects. wouldn't trust bayer on my rock ever.

trueblackpercula
02/25/2015, 06:03 AM