PDA

View Full Version : SPS tank LED or MH?

cleverbs
02/24/2015, 10:38 AM
I am switching to SPS reef and am thinking that every really nice SPS reef tank I see is lit by MH. Am I going to have a problem using AI Hydra 26's For my SPS Tank? Will I not see the growth I need?

I have a 220g Tank

I know nothing about MH and the last thing I want is to spend 600$ a year on MH bulbs and t5ho bulbs...what do we do in this situation?

Wazzel
02/24/2015, 10:41 AM
What are the dimension on your tank?

Mishri
02/24/2015, 10:52 AM
replacement MH bulbs aren't that expensive, do them annually. (I've been running one over one of my tanks for over 3 years heheh.. but.. i'm just growing algae in it). $25-50 a bulb should be the cost.. so if you are running 4 bulbs, 200 tops? unless you are doing a T5 combo that some people like..

I'm not convinced LEDs are ready yet. I think sometime soon it will be the go to standard lighting, use these preset options for these types of corals and you are good to go. Right now there is too much playing with it for my liking. Some people enjoy turning those knobs, fine tuning things, I don't.

Peter Eichler
02/24/2015, 10:56 AM
If you want the best possible color with good growth get yourself some nice reflectors and Radiums. Your current set-up will be fine, but you're going to have a a hard time replicating the success you can achieve with a top notch MH set-up. So, it really comes down to what your priorities are...

Compliance
02/24/2015, 10:59 AM
If you can afford the added heat and cost - I would go with MH...

joshky
02/24/2015, 11:02 AM
Personally I find all of the really nice SPS tanks lit by either T5s or T5 Hybrids these days. MH are nice but spread is the biggest concern, T5s and T5 hybrids are the best IMO.

cleverbs
02/24/2015, 11:15 AM
Well just t5s wont work for me

My tank is a 220g 6ft tank 2ft deep using just t5s would be way to many and not what I am wanting to do.