PDA

View Full Version : Red slime away?

Salty Cracker
02/25/2015, 04:49 PM
I have been fighting a losing battle for a couple months wirh heavy red slime. I have tried lights out for three days, reduced feeding, water changes...etc. So now red slime remover was just mixed and hit the tank. Fingers crossed!

Sisterlimonpot
02/25/2015, 05:09 PM
ah man there were other options before resorting to an antibiotic.....

Not to sound like a proponent of Dr Tim products but when you find something that works why change it?

I would've recommended using refresh and then waste away. there's a wonderful article on his website urging not to use antibiotics... This is an all natural way to get rid of cyanobacteria by fixing the underlying problem and not just treating it with antibiotics

mcgyvr
02/25/2015, 06:05 PM
"lights out" should say.. absolute darkness..
Literally wrap your tank..so NO light.. even ambient room lighting can make it not work against cyano.
That along with siphoning out as much as you can will take care of it..

but hey.. slime away is in.. so still siphon out as much cyano as you can as often as you can during your water changes..

jetmart
02/25/2015, 07:06 PM
ah man there were other options before resorting to an antibiotic.....

Not to sound like a proponent of Dr Tim products but when you find something that works why change it?

I would've recommended using refresh and then waste away. there's a wonderful article on his website urging not to use antibiotics... This is an all natural way to get rid of cyanobacteria by fixing the underlying problem and not just treating it with antibiotics

Do you have a link for this info?

FraggledRock
02/25/2015, 07:10 PM
do u have a skimmer and do you over feed?

FraggledRock
02/25/2015, 07:11 PM
do you have good flow in there? minimum 20x water volume

FraggledRock
02/25/2015, 07:12 PM
sump?

Salty Cracker
02/25/2015, 07:46 PM