PDA

View Full Version : How to get LEDs to dim to zero?

PIPSTER
03/03/2015, 04:53 PM
I have a EG style chinese LED light, and I want to turn the whites down more. (The blues, too, for that matter.)

The lowest setting on the dimmer seems to be about 40-50%, still.

Do I need to be looking to replace the dimmer? Or the driver? Or both?

I'm not an electronics expert at all.

coralsnaked
03/03/2015, 04:59 PM
Did they say dims from 0 - 100 % ? This type dimmer is a little more expensive and not always available on the cheaper Chinese fixtures. Probably got what you got ! Most dimmable fixtures just route that wattage back into the transformer and some cannot handle dimming down past 50%

PIPSTER
03/03/2015, 05:20 PM
I just want to know what I have to replace to get 0-100% dimming.

Gorgok
03/03/2015, 07:26 PM
What are you using as a dimmer?

Replacing the drivers with drivers capable of dimming would solve the issue though.

PIPSTER
03/04/2015, 07:59 AM
The light has dimmable drivers and uses a dimmer pot which seems to only go down to about 40-50% dim. I don't know if it's the dimmer pot or the drivers that doesn't just go down to 0%, or close to it. I would be happy with 10%. It's the same basic light as reefbreeders\marsaqua\reef radiance.

oreo57
03/04/2015, 08:26 AM
The light has dimmable drivers and uses a dimmer pot which seems to only go down to about 40-50% dim. I don't know if it's the dimmer pot or the drivers that doesn't just go down to 0%, or close to it. I would be happy with 10%. It's the same basic light as reefbreeders\marsaqua\reef radiance.
Tese "types" have multiple dimming circuitry, and to make it worse, run high DC voltages. i.e 60-85V
w/out disassemble and seeing what is inside it is impossible to tell.
You may just have a bad "pot".. most dim lower than that I thought May be wrong
http://www.*********.com/forums/do-yourself-diy/173711-aquamanna-others-165w-chinese-light-emitting-diodes-mods-quieter-fans-0-10v-dimming.html