PDA

View Full Version : Hello all...making the leap to reef keeping.

mmittlesteadt
03/05/2015, 06:03 PM
I'm new to this forum, though not entirely new to fresh or saltwater aquariums.

I'm 54 and have been keeping fish for at least 35 years. I once managed two pet stores in Central Wisconsin and we kept a wide variety of freshwater tanks and kept some saltwater supplies in stock, though we did not sell or maintain saltwater tanks.

I'm a very experienced freshwater enthusiast but I'm I'm a bit of a novice to saltwater, mainly reef tanks. I've had a couple of saltwater tanks a few years back. Nothing fabulous like some of these tanks I see on here. My last little fish/reef tank I had was stocked with live rock and ended up in disaster because of one little inhabitant that came along with my live rock...a mantis shrimp. Ugh. Needless to say I left the hobby of saltwater for a while.

I now work at a store that has a huge, very well managed and maintained pet store with a great devoted and educated staff, with two being saltwater experts. They stock absolutely everything related to saltwater. The benefit to me as an employee at this store is I can buy everything at cost.

To make an already long story short, I now have the means to back into reef keeping and this time I am going to take my sweet time with it, learn as much as I can here, from books and my fellow employees in the pet department as well as every pertinent thread here I can find.

I do not have the space for a large tank, so I'm going with a 40 gallon breeder tank. My plan is to keep a few small fish and only soft corals. I'm going to forego a sump (again, limited space). I already purchased an Eshopps PSK-100 protein skimmer for it, a Bulk Reef Supply 4 Stage RO/DI System (@ 75GPD) and I have a 3 foot dual bulb flourescent light fixture but plan on getting two 3 foot LED fixtures from work.