PDA

View Full Version : instant ocean seaclone protein skimmer

rastamang
03/05/2015, 10:07 PM
yes I'm new to protein skimmers, exactly how should i tune the skimmer? should there a tornado affect or should it be spinning and blurry or what? thank you for the help.

rastamang
03/05/2015, 10:27 PM
also whats a good skimmer for a 40 gallon breeder with a 2 gallon sump i have an instant ocean seaclone 100g skimmer now. but its crappy quality i should've just spent the extra money on a good one. which would you buy? thank you.

rustyjames
03/05/2015, 10:29 PM
I have to ask, is 2 gallon sump a typo?

Pigpen17
03/05/2015, 10:32 PM
Oh man. I rocked one of those for a looooong time.

Once it was broken in I ended up running almost full open to get the micro bubbles to stop and to have it work. That being said, I would start slow and open it more as you notice if it is skimming or not. The tornado effect is what you want, but I found that it needed to be turned up to just a tower of foam to actually work.

rastamang
03/05/2015, 10:32 PM
lol yes i meant 20

rastamang
03/05/2015, 10:34 PM
its too loud, and i want something more efficient and reliable.

Pigpen17
03/05/2015, 10:38 PM
Did you just set it up today? If so, I would give it about a week before I judged it. It has it's problems, but it will skimm.

rastamang
03/05/2015, 10:43 PM
its been set up for 2 weeks now. i just opened it some more and the water is spinning in a tornado style and is milky. some foam is coming out the top, but it is being kinda loud with a humming noise.

banthonyb71
03/05/2015, 11:14 PM
it is not the most efficient skimmer by any means. I had the seaclone.. I believe it was the sc-150. I think identical body to the 100. I couldnt stand that thing as a hang on the back for my 46 gall,, let alone running it with a sump. I was able to sell mine for a ok price on criagslist.