PDA

View Full Version : New Tank - How Does This Sound?

Threshold
03/08/2015, 09:17 PM
For those of you that don't know me, I'm a newbie to reefing. The bug has bit me and I've been reading/researching a lot about the topic. I am plotting out my tank (hardware and livestock) before spending a penny -- just because I want to know what I'm getting into before taking the plunge!

Anyway, I went by my LFS today for my son's freshwater aquarium and while there I asked a few questions about a saltwater aquarium for me... :)

We looked at a 40 gallon breeder with a stand, a 10 gallon sump, the plumbing, and a return pump. The owner wasn't there so he couldn't give me a concrete quote (he saw the price of the breeder -- but not a breeder with predrilled holes for the sump; he also didn't know how much of a discount he could offer me)... So the ballpark is $350-$450 for the display tank, sump, stand, plumbing and return pump.

Does this sound good to you? (It did to me -- but what can you expect -- I'm a newbie and the only thing I have to compare it to is stuff by Innovative Marine and Red Sea -- so anything is cheap versus the name brands!)

I also asked about going out of town... If my family goes on vacation, what do I do with my tank? He said their store offers fish sitting for $5/day. Basically, I bring in a bucket of fish and they'll toss it in one of their tanks and monitor/feed them daily. $5 for the whole bucket -- not per fish. That sounded extremely reasonable -- but I also felt that this could open my fish up to potential risk with anything that might be floating through the store's water system.