PDA

View Full Version : New Game HELP!

NMMTech88
03/09/2015, 01:12 AM
G'day reefers, my name is Chris and I'm new to the saltwater world, greetings to all of you, I hope someone can help me out.
I'm about to place an order for a custom tank and need to do so within 48hours so it will be ready in-time to be integrated into my new house which is being plastered in a week from now.
I'm looking at a 6' x 2.5' x 2.5', originally it was going to have a corner weir because I didn't have any other advise or help from the business I was dealing with. I have since done some research and I'm interested in the beananimal design, I wanted to incorporate this with an external overflow box and refuting sump. I was thinking of having the box built and fixed to the side of the tank not the rear, my concern with running a c2c along the rear was the visibility from the front of the display tank, I could still do this but I figure the side will still give me more linear flow than the weir would have. For a 280g tank I've calculated the sump flow at 2805gph (x10 rule) - this gives me a recommended minimum linear overflow of 42", if I run the box on the side I'll only have about 29" is this okay?
If I go with the side overflow box what size should it be? In the overflow box I'll have 3 pipes as per beananimal's design, should these pipes enter through the bottom or the side, and should there be a 4th at base level for draining and cleaning? Concerning pipe sizes, I calculated that my drain should be a minimum of 2.19" diameter, so the beananimal design has 2 drains and an emergency, correct?, so I could run say both at 40mm or should they be 50mm? I'm in Australia and I think our PVC sizes jump from 40 to 50 (will need to confirm though at an irrigation shop).
Return pump size should be less than 2805gph, correct? eheim model recommendation?
With beananimal' design, what happens when the power goes out? Does everything resume as normal when the power returns?