PDA

View Full Version : First post, first question. To much weight?

Hawkeye319
03/09/2015, 07:44 PM
The time has come for me to jump back into the salt water way of life. It has been awhile since my last tank, almost 8 years now. I already puchased my tank and have the stand and canopy stained and drying as we speak. The tank is a reef ready 125 with dual overflows on the back. I will be purchasing and installing all of the necessary equipment over the next few months.

As this is my first time with a tank this large I was hoping for some reassurance from you reef vets on my placement of the tank on the second floor. Im prepared to reinforce the floor if needed. My only concern is that the prime location for the tank will mean that the floor joist will run parallel to the tank and not perpendicular. Its up against a load bearing wall and as I said before, I can reinforce if necessary.

I have scoured the internet for advice and info on the subject but would like to hear from anyone that has had to deal with this in the past. The general consensus I keep getting is that anything under 125 gal should be ok. Thanks in advance and I look forward to contributing in the forums as my tank gets up and going.

mbemount
03/09/2015, 09:07 PM
I also have a 125RR and I took the approach of 'better safe than sorry'. I installed house jacks underneath where my 125 sits even though it sits perpendicular to the joists. The small amount of time and money it cost me to do that was just a drop in the bucket to the other costs of the hobby.

Hawkeye319
03/09/2015, 10:20 PM
Agree 100%! This is most likely the path I will take as well. Directly under the tank, in the basement, is a closet. So putting in a couple braces is not a problem. I already put a piece of 3/4 " plywood under the stand to help distribute the weight. Just wasn't sure if the extra support was necessary.

Better safe than sorry though!

noj3333
03/09/2015, 10:23 PM
def. need extra support....

Mark9