PDA

View Full Version : Gathering information and ideas before I start 40B reef tank

koko maung
03/10/2015, 12:59 AM
Hey Everyone,

I am totally new to forum and reef tank. I have been keeping fresh water aquarium for about 5 years so I do have basic knowledge of water parameter and chemistry.

I am planning on setting up a reef tank in about 1-2 months. So I am currently gathering information and planning as much as I can. I will be starting out with 40B tank with live sand and dry rock. I would like to have a pair of clownfish, gobies, gramma, wrasse, firefish, emerald crab, shrimp and clean up crews. I am not really sure what type corals I am going to get yet but I would like to get something that clownfish like to host, glows and colorful. I do have RO/DI system so I can do weekly water changes.

Following are my questions
1. Is it possible to setup a tank with 500 - 800 budget? without sump and skimmer.
2. I don't have room for sump so it is possible to keep a tank without any filtration system?
3. If I end up getting skimmer, which one do you guys recommend? I don't want to spend a lot and get a decent skimmer that quite.
4. What kind of lighting should I get? A friend of mine told me that 4x t5 would be best fit for me since its cheap. What would you guys recommend?
5. Which power head should I get?
6. Where do you guys buy food for corals and fish? Online?
7. Would it be cheaper and get better quality product from online or LFS? Where do you guys usually order dry rock, food and fish?
8. What are the essential items that I must invest?

Feel free to leave comments, recommendation, experience and thoughts please. Anything is useful

Thanks in advance,
KoKo

RocketEngineer
03/10/2015, 08:16 AM
First off, I think you have too many fish for such a small tank. I just set up a 40B at work and will likely only have 3-4 small fish in it once everything is up and running. My office tank is sumpless as well.

To answer your questions: