PDA

View Full Version : Stepping up from 12g nano reef to twin 30g tanks

Elladan
03/10/2015, 09:41 AM
Hi, posting here as it's my first time on the forum. I thought I had made a similar long post yesterday, but it somehow failed to upload. I can't find it, anyway. Sigh. Anyway, I'm moving from a 12g nano up to two 30g rimless tanks sharing a common sump. Below, I'll provide details about both setups for background, but you won't want to read any of that stuff unless you're willing to offer advice on what euipment I need and what will be superfluous, guidance on setting up my new tanks, and -- especially -- what filtration will best suit my needs. If you're feeling kind, please read on! I'd really appreciate any help this forum could offer, as this is my first step into the "real" world of reef keeping, and I've much to learn.

Current Tank
I've run a 12g Fluval Edge reef tank with stock filtration, a small powerhead, and a 150w Kessil LED fixture for about two years, now. As I'm sure you'll recognize, the tank has a nice form factor, but is basically impossible to clean really well. It's done well, though, with weekly or biweekly 40% water changes.