PDA

View Full Version : 37g fish stocking recommendations

Daltonbilecki
03/10/2015, 08:38 PM
So im new to the hobby and have had this 37 gallon 33x12x24 acrylic saltwater tank for a little more than 3 months.
So far i have a decent sized clean up crew, a blue damsel, 2 four-stripe damsels, and a moray eel.
What other fish do you guys think i could add? Could a flame angel or some sort of butterfly/foxface fish go in here? Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

A sea K
03/11/2015, 04:09 AM
None of the fish you are asking about are suitable for your 37gal tank. With that said, neither is the Moray. You didnt state which Moray you have but a 37 is too small even for a little Snowflake.

FWIW,I hope you have a secure lid of some sorts, eels are notorious escape artist.

pyithar
03/11/2015, 04:17 AM
i agree with everything he said ^^^

scooter31707
03/11/2015, 06:01 AM
+1..

Mark9
03/11/2015, 09:36 AM
Ouch, brutal answers, give the guy a break, he didn't say he wanted to get rid of his current livestock.
liveaquaria says 30g for the damsels you have, so at 37g, looks fine to me.
Says 50 for the eel, so your tank is a bit small there.
Problem with adding more fish is that the damsels will get annoyingly mean, they just cause too much stress in other fish.
Personally, i'd add some more rock to provide more hiding places and a few corals.
You're pretty much at the fish limit.
Sounds harsh, but overstocking leads to other issues.
Maybe another damsel if you really want more.

mpderksen
03/11/2015, 10:15 AM
Clownfish are damsels too, and could possibly be okay, but they are pretty territorial later. You might end up deciding that the damsels are too limiting and swap them out for other options. I had a pair of clowns in a BC29 with a few others and it was fine for 2 years.

Daltonbilecki
03/11/2015, 06:06 PM