PDA

View Full Version : HA is winning

JimL77
03/20/2015, 01:17 PM
I have been fighting hair algae for several months. Have tried many water changes, manual removal. Hydrogen peroxide treatments. Constant GFO, Magnesium, light changes, less lighting. Lowered feeding. It is getting the best of me. I am going out of town for an extended period of time soon and worry my wife will not be able to keep up the regimens.

I have a feeling I will need to tear the tank down when I get back.

I have been ini reefing for a very long time, and was always successful until now. The 15+ year old tank was torn down 2 years ago when the tank was replaced, all rocks and gravel were scrubbed. It was very clean then. I have a closed loop with huge amounts of flow, a good skimmer and a huge with cheato.

Any suggestions of something to do before I leave? I do not want to give up the hobby, but this is kicking my butt.

ryeguyy84
03/20/2015, 01:33 PM
have you tried just lights out for 3 days, with no feeding?

Phosphates might show 0 but have you tested them lately?

Chooch1
03/20/2015, 02:21 PM
You have to do multiple water changes with perfect RO-DI water. Shorter lighting period, smaller feedings, no additives, clean carbon, and change GFO weekly. The water changes should be at least 50% every other day, maybe as much as 75%. Make sure the salinity, temperature and alkalinity in the makeup water is in the correct range. Remove as much HA as you can manually and blast the rock with a power head and use a filter sock to catch the detritus and debris. A total pain and time consuming but you will eventually break the HA's back. You will know you're winning when the HA starts to change color and not look as "healthy" or robust for lack of a better description. Good luck.

75pxatr
03/21/2015, 07:03 AM